Guatemala

Posted: December 1, 2010 in Guatemala

The past few days have just been filled with riding as I have been trying to get to Guatemala in order to be able to spend a couple of weeks here before having to meet Katia in San Salvador for Christmas.

Here are the last few views I had of Mexico in the past days. Mexican mountains:

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 5

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 2

Before crossing the border, I slept at another drive-in hotel where the guy at the door had to go ask how much to charge me for the whole night as he only knew the price for 3 hour shifts. For 250 pesos, I got a clean room, with a TV, bathroom and an AC system that got me a cold. It was +30 I think outside and after turning on the AC, I started to feel a sore throat. Now I’m sitting in bed watching TV and writing this blog thing…

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 7

Crossing the border took me about 10 minutes with all the paperwork as I hired for about 10$ one of the 1000 some guys that wanna “help” you. He brought me from one station to another, did the photocopies, told the border guys what I needed and I was on my way. I could have done it without him, but it would have taken me a LOT longer. I did get ripped off a bit by one of the other guys as I had some pesos left and had to exchange them into Qs. I didn’t have too much left, so it’s all good.

About 30 min after crossing, the Guatemala mountains started. Although they are close to Mexico, they feel a lot different. Everything seems to be more green and cloudier here.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 10

Also, a lot more towns at high altitudes than Mexico. The people here don’t seem to mind living with their heads in the clouds. I rode most of the way at over 2000m altitude today.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 12

And even made it up to 3000m.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 15

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 20

Comments
  1. Ben says:

    Hi Stephan;
    I meet you at the hostel in San Fran.Following your progress with interest.How’s the KLR going.Notice you are still taking awesome photos.
    Gee $20 for skinny dipping in Mexico,I think you were fleeced.
    My experience of the TVs in those drive in hotels was was very er exciting.
    Regards Ben

    • pimptrix says:

      lol, yeh, I think they would have taken 10$, but there were like 6 of them and I had a 20$ bill I remembered in my pants by the tent. Either way, 20$ bought them each about 3 beers… no big deal. I’m still laughing about it.

      As for the shows on those TVs…. 24\7 only the best… 😉

  2. katia says:

    This is so exciting brings back memories, can you imagine I was there exactly two years ago where you are now? Chasing the bus to cross the boarder. Where are you off to next? South or North? I think you need to check out Tikal, it’s a must see ruin especially if you catch it with the sunrise you climb all the way up and the view is breathtaking.

    • pimptrix says:

      Not sure where I will be heading yet. I slept all night for about 15 hours with sleeping pills trying to get rid of this sore throat. I’ll stay here another night and then head over to some hot springs close by. I’ll probably stay there another night if there is still room available. Going way up north might be a bit hard because of the roads and the time frame I have. I don’t mind bad roads, but if it takes me a day to do 150km, it will take me a while to get up there and back down.

      • katia says:

        Did you make it to the hot springs yet? Yeah that road could be a lot of fun for you, you’d have a blast that’s for sure. We could check out some ruins in El Salvador. I have found a couple that interest me and one of them is by volcano. Should be kinda cool. I think HDR would turn out wicked… Mayan HDRuins here’s the title for blog entry. I’ll guess I can sell you the rights to it.

      • katia says:

        PS: I love the photo with the look of smoked-shattered glass, it almost looks like you are watching the town from different sphere!!!

  3. E- says:

    Wonderful pics and narrative, as usual, thank you!!!! Hope you’ll also enjoy Guatemala! Sorry for your cold. Please take care and treat it! Wishing you lots, lots of health!!!

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

