Deep Guatemala

Posted: December 10, 2010 in Guatemala

I think I will let the pictures do the talking. The views in Guatemala are just WOW! Riding in my first days at altitudes over 2000m practically all the time. Jungle, dirt roads, small villages…. and scenery like I have never seen before. It’s hard to even try and show in pictures what the eyes really see.

As for the bike, it was designed for the roads up here. Compared to what most people ride, it feels like a sport bike that can handle any road you throw at it.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 9

The mountain had fallen on the road in the background, so they built another 1 lane trail to make up for it. If 2 cars meet face to face, 1 has to back up till they can pass each-other. On the bike, things are a bit easier… 😉

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 23

Breath taking views…

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 20

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 46

Typical Guatemala “larger” town

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 29

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 32

Typical Guatemala breakfast. I think it was called Tomal or something similar. The amount of flavor in this was incredible! I have gained all the weight back that I lost in Mexico since I’ve been here. The food is 100 times better.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 30

Local Church

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 34

The clear lakes at Samuk Shampai (may have misspelled it)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 75

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 105

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 110

Local Kid who wanted to see himself on camera

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 118

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 116

When I arrived in Shampai, these 4 guys showed up with GS1200s. They are from Guatemala city and decided to go out on a week-end adventure ride. After spending a couple of nights in Shampai, they invited me to tag along on a road that wasn’t even on any of my maps. Took us about 4 hours to cover 100 km through small towns where kids were clapping as we were going by and locals were looking at us as if we had come out of a space ship. Jungle, mountains, muddy roads, amazing views, good friends, great food… what else can one ask for?!

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 179 - Version 2

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 183

The muddy trail

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 122

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 120

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 129

Had another flat tire. They all stopped and helped me. Lucky too that we were only 5 minutes from a “shop” that fixed the puncture for 30Q (about 4$) once the wheel was off.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 160

The view from the road

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 168

Local public transportation in the smaller towns

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 186

I have to say once again that I had a blast riding with these guys! They showed me amazing roads, gave me tons of pointers and advice, they were amazingly generous and some of the best friends I have made on this trip.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 179

Now I’m staying in Flores at a pretty chill but packed hostel. I went up to Tikal for a couple of nights and I’ll try to post on that a bit later…

Comments
  1. Ali Gauher Khan says:

    Amazing scenery and good friends, GREAT !!

  2. Steve says:

    Beautiful pics! Glad top hear you’re safe and having a great time. The HDR looks great. What program are you using to do them? I haven’t done much of it in the past, but I’m diggin’ the look. This will be one heck of a slide show when it’s all done.
    Man…you’re livin’ the life!

  3. katia says:

    Sounds like a ton of fun, very nice HDR pics, the rest can make a really cute Tide Commercial 😉 Katusha needs a good wash lol 🙂 bikini wash by the beach perhaps? 😛

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

