La Barona Turtles

Posted: December 31, 2010 in Guatemala

I took the Ferry back out from Hawaii (20Q this time) and headed over to La Barona which is a border town with El Salvador. The ride was supposed to be only about 2-3 hours with a couple of breaks. I was told that the bridge was down to get into town but there were lanchas that could get you across for a small fee. I got to the broken bridge and yes, the lanchas could get the smaller bikes across but not my giant tank.

After talking to a few locals, they told me that if I crossed over into El Salvador, there’s a small back road with only a check stop that I can take back into Guatemala and therefore avoid the bridge. It was my only choice so I had to cross.

Crossing into El Salvador is pretty easy but you have to be patient. I think it took about 3 hours. By the time I was on the other side, it was dark so I had to find a place to sleep. Stayed at another drive-in hotel for 14$ a night including 2 cold beers that came with the room. If I were interested, I got also offered “special services” for 20$.

The next morning, I found the small back road. At the check stop, the army guys just looked at my bike and asked me where I was from. I told them Canada, and without even taking my helmet off or getting my papers checked, I was back in Guatemala and 15 minutes later in La Barona.

Ferry ride back out of Hawaii

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 81

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 83

In La Barona, a couple of the local guys, Evar and his buddy, took me out fishing in a small lancha.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 87

Our lancha was about the same size as this one

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 88

Some awesome views of the lagoon

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 91

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 99

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 100

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 102

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 104

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 126

As we were heading back with the lancha, I saw a couple of the other volunteers in a bigger lancha with a motor. They invited me on board so I went for a second boat ride. It turns out that the local drug lord who’s also running for mayor was taking out some “important” people on a short boat ride to impress them.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 133

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 137

The local town bus in La Barona

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 140

Their park

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 1

Our food the next day

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 6

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 7

He was one happy guy we were cutting the chicken

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 10 (1)

Some guys hanging by the street

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 11

A few steps down, the local drug lord’s propaganda in the hopes of getting more votes from the locals

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 12

Sunset before releasing turtles

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 14

Rachel and some kids getting the lil guys out of the hatchery.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 18

Release time

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 19

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 22

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 26

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 27

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 34 (1)

On the 24th, Nando, our host and person in charge of the hatchery, took us out on a small trip in his lancha.

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 1 (1)

Showed us a lil hidden pathway

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 3

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 4 (2)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 5

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 6 (1)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 7 (1)

Local school

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 13 (1)

Kids sit on this

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 17

Cute lil guy

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 18 (1)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 21

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 22 (1)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 27 (1)

Older dead turtle we found on the beach

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 28

Where there’s death, there’s also new life

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 30 (1)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 33 (1)

KLR 650 Bike Trip Guatemala 35 (1)

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    Wonderful images. The pelican and turtles are just so striking! Glad the border crossings were easy, but horrible that you had to take the long way around.

    • pimptrix says:

      Hey Lori! Thanks for checking out the blog and for the comments on the images! I wouldn’t say that it was “horrible”… just part of the adventure. I can now say that I illegally crossed and stayed in a Central American country! 🙂

  2. JUDITA says:

    We wish you a ” Happy new year! ” and all your dreems will came true.

  3. katia says:

    Hrusha’s picture that’s an HDR picture? or just aperture? it’s soo cute…

  4. Vlad says:

    Salut! Ce mai faci? Cum te simti? Vad ca esti in Honduras. N-ai mai pus poze. Aici e f frig, de mai bine de 1 saptamana maxima zilei e -20…asta in caz ca ti-e dor sau te bate vreun gand. Drum bun si ai grija de tine.

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

