Copán Ruinas

Posted: January 17, 2011 in Honduras

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 10

I crossed over into Honduras through the North border of El Salvador. The border was nice and easy. The Honduras guys did make me wait till 5:10pm to get my paperwork ready just to make sure the banks were closed. They told me that I can just give them the money and they will “deposit” it the next morning. They did write that on my paperwork and hopefully I wont be asked to pay again on the way out. It’s pretty clear that they empocket the $ which is fine by me as long as I don’t have to pay again. In the worse case, I got ripped off by 34$ which for Honduras is not that bad.

I didn’t know what to expect of this country because all you hear on the news is it’s political instability. Since I crossed over, I haven’t heard anything about it’s politics. The country looks a lot like Guatemala. Crappy roads, over all nice people and tons of vegetation. Prices are a lot more reasonable than El Salvador as well.

My first real stop was Copan. Many people told me to stop by because it’s a nice town. Lets just say that it’s a huge tourist party town with some ruins on the side. I had planned to stay for 2 nights, but ended up staying for 5 because I was too hung over every morning to ride. It’s one of the safe towns in Honduras where you can go out at night without any problems. There are tourists from everywhere but the ones I hung out the most with were 2 Brazilians, Horaldo and Daniel.

I also stumbled upon the “Corporate Runaways”. A couple riding their BMW 650s and running away from the corporate slavery.

Anyway, enough with the party talk and here are some pictures for all you ruin lovers.

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 1

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 2

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 3

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 4

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 5

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 6

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 7

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 8

KLR 650 Trip Honduras 9

Comments
  1. katia says:

    the ruins look frightening. It’s almost like if you stay the night they will come alive and hunt you down. Not very friendly looking sculptures, but very cool pictures the hdr makes them more scarier. 🙂

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

