Welcome to ecuador… crash #2

Posted: July 8, 2011 in Ecuador
Tags: ,

The border crossing was really easy. Hand in the temporary import visa for the bike on the Colombian side, get an exit stamp, then get an entry stamp on the Ecuador side and another temporary import visa for the bike for 90 days. All Free! It seems that in South America the borders are a lot more civilized and organized than in Central America.

So I start riding and I’m happy to get away from the border. I’m doing about 80-100km/h on a nice wide road when all of a sudden I see a taxi pulling in front of me from the other side of the road to turn around. I don’t even have time to push the horn as I try not to T-bone the fukr and just when I think I might get around the front of the car he accelerates even more and hits the back of my bike. From then on, I remember the bike losing control and me sliding along with it for a few hundred feet. Cars stop on the road, I get right back up and look back just to see the taxi slowly taking away. I start yelling TAXI TAXI but noone follows him. People are yelling too but no action is taken. Luckly one guy writes down the plate number of the cab.

Within about a minute, a police guy arrives on a suzuki motorcycle and immediately after another one on a KLR 650. Within about 2 minutes, the ambulance arrives and a paramedic runs out to see me. He asks me if I’m ok. I check myself since I have the adrenaline pumping and wouldn’t know if I had anything broken. Not a single scratch! I check my breathing for my lungs and ribs, everything is fine. Once again, all my gear did it’s work. Money well spent! I think my jacket is up to about 8 crashes in the past 8 years now.

More police show up but this time with a 4X4 truck and help me load the bike into it. They drive me up to a shop where they have their own KLRs and other police bikes fixed. They also call in the plate right away for the cab driver, but with probably about 1000 cabs in that town good luck finding it. I check in at a hotel close to the bike shop for 8$ a night an go check on the damage after I check over some of my stuff as my rear pelican case opened up during the crash along with my left pannier that literally changed shape. The biggest damage was one my camera that slid along with the bike and the zoom lens fitting part broke. So I am now down to 2 lenses, the 28mm and 50mm lenses without a variable zoom or Image Stabilization. Pictures wont look as good in the future 😀

So back to the shop I go to check the bike.

Here’s a picture of the bike at the scene of the accident. Hart to tell but the left side pannier is on the right side, the pannier holder is pushed way in, and the front rim has about half the spokes broken and it’s also cracked.

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 1

At the shop, the bike is kept outside as it’s a really small shop.

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 4

Old aluminum rim

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 3

New steel rim. Same Japanese brand as the old one but with about twice the weight and twice the strength. Cost for the new rim, 60$. He also had another one made in China for 20$, but not much good comes out of that country so I went for the Japanese one.

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 5

Getting the broken and bent spokes out

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 6

Re-spoking the new rim

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 8

The Shop doing the work

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 9

Adjusting the spokes

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 14

1 Shiney new chrome rim! We also changed the oil in the mean time. Cost of total labor 10$. Rim: 60$. 3L of oil 15$ But the bike was once again rideable.

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 16

Here’s what the pannier looked like.

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 10

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 11 (1)

But the next day after MUCH MUCH asking and searching, I found these guys that were metal professionals. They build their own mufflers, tables… stuff like that along with creating new parts if needed. They worked for probably 2 hours on getting the pannier back to normal shape and rebending the pannier holder. Funny thing is that ALL the welds from Santiago held strong! I think the subframe will bend before those welds break! So labor cost for the metal work, another 10$

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 18

Here is Louis. He is the first officer to arrive on the scene of the accident. He came to check on me the next day. Also to tell me that they didn’t find the cab driver. He said that the cab driver is probably hiding the cab somewhere. Either way, I didn’t have time to go through the cab driver’s insurance so it was just easier to pay the 100$ or so in repairs and keep going. I would have loved to find the driver just to show him my fist in his face for driving off.

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 17

Here’s also a pic of the police KLRs. Mine still looks better! 😉

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 12

KLR 650 Trip Ecuador 13

So due to the accident, I lost 2 days in that border town, about 100$ but luckly not a scratch on me. That was about 2 weeks ago and the bike has been riding good since. I was really impressed on how fast the police and ambulance showed up. Also thanks to the cops for helping me get the bike to the shop instead of calling a tow truck. 🙂

Comments
  1. Vlad says:

    Ai grija de tine ca e plina America de Sud de soferi nebuni. Bine ca tu n-ai patit nimic, fiarele se indreapta.

  2. Adam Bentley says:

    Holy shit dude! Your lucky to escape unhurt. What a wanker of a cab driver!

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

