Cusco to Bolivia

Posted: January 4, 2012 in Peru
Tags: ,

I made it to that super touristic place everyone goes to in Peru, Cusco. It’s a pretty cool city that actually has a clean center for all the foreigners to promenade around. After looking for ever for a Hostel that would be within my price range and with a garage for the bike, I found an Israeli one that was supposed to be a 2 star hotel. Well, it was kind of a dump, but who cares, the bike was safe and I was close to the city center. I think that I was the only non Israeli in there though.

Here’s the city from the top

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 334

And from downtown

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 342

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 346

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 355

Besides walking around and admiring the same buildings everyone else did, I found an electronic market where I got my other iPhone fixed. Changed the battery, the back cover, the bottom charging piece, the top headphone jack and power button, and a couple of other things for about 70$. All the parts were taken out from what I believe was probably a stolen iPhone that got locked. Either way, I had a working iPhone again. The guy tried to fix the usb port on my GPS as well, but didn’t succeed. I just bought a universal charger for it and charge the battery on it’s own.

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 359

After the work was done, I had no reason to spend more time in this tourist zoo so I left towards the Bolivian border. On the way, I found this cool little town that had an old school church.

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 361

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 367

More mountains…. I actually got lost in the mountains for a bit as I took the wrong way. Lost about 200km but had some amazing scenery.

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 370

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 376

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 379

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 382

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 393

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 408

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 412

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 424

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 437

Natural Hot springs… but a bit too hot to bath in.

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 443

That sign on the right says… 10km of motorcycle heaven

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 448

Last town before the border

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 451

Bolivia is next

KLR 650 Trip Peru and Bolivia 452

Comments
  1. Tiffany says:

    It looks like you’re having an amazing time dude. You should be working for National Geographic! Hugs!

  2. Stew says:

    Wow! Awesome ride report! I just found it on ADV and came to your blog and bookmarked it.. I’ll have to go over the whole thing from the beginning :). I’m from the Edmonton area and also ride a KLR, I dream of a trip like yours someday. Ride safe! 🙂

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

