Paraguay entrance and Assumption

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Paraguay

Like for most tourists, Paraguay wasn’t really on my list of countries to visit but I have to say that it would have been a real shame to leave it out of the list. It just so happened that while in Bolivia, I looked at the map and Paraguay was really close by, therefore I decided to run by and check it out. Paraguay has the nicest and most laid back people I have seen up to now along with the most corrupt police force… more on that later.

Here are pictures of the border crossing and the road. They are working paving the main road, but till then… it’s blocked off in most places. I still ran most of the miles on this.

STE_5697

Funny thing is, the road is still not opened, but the pavement looks like it’s been there for a few years. I guess that things are done in Paraguay timing.

STE_5701

And then the Chaco! 100s of KM of straight road, with Savanna looking scenery all around.

STE_5703

The first night, I set up camp here at this police check-stop. It was the only place for about 150km from the Bolivian border. The Paraguay immigration was still over 100km away.

STE_5709

As you probably read a few months ago, things didn’t really go as planned. Going through the super dusty dirt roads of the chaco, with no oil in the air filter, dust got in and ate up my piston rings. I posted about this here. Big thanks again to the guys at Metal Car and Kawasaki for helping me out with this!

I spent 3 weeks in the municipal campground in Assumption and that was a great experience. The municipal campground is at the heart of the botanical garden, making it probably the best place in the city to spend the night. Everyone in the campground became like my family in the 3 weeks there.

Some pictures of the gardens and my family there…

STE_5715

STE_5894

STE_5757

STE_5756

STE_5761

STE_5764

STE_5769

STE_5771

STE_5772

STE_5773

STE_5774

STE_5775

STE_5777

STE_5780

STE_5781

STE_5782

STE_5783

STE_5784

STE_5786

While in Assumption, I rode around in the Collectivo Busses

STE_5787

Took a boat

STE_5789

STE_5792

Checked out the harbour

STE_5794

STE_5807

And been all over downtown, including many visits to the big market they have there.

STE_5808

Meanwhile, after about 2 weeks of camping alone in the gardens, this gentleman showed up on his 4X4 motorhome. He’s been traveling around the world for 10 years in this.

STE_5817

A few days later, these 2 also showed up. Aless & Celine from Switzerland in the VW van, and Sebastien & Maude from France in the Range Rover.

STE_5819

STE_5869

Days went by something like this. BBQ meat, aka Assado, is a big thing in the south, especially in Paraguay. Ate a lot of it there.

STE_5875

Drinking Terere. I ended up buying my own thermos after a couple of days along with my own terere cup, although mine weren’t as fancy as the ones in the picture.

STE_5759

BTW, not sure if you recognized the asian guy on the left? Over a year before, I met Yosh right before the border crossing with Mexico and then we rode all of the Baja together. Afterwards, I had lost touch with him as he stayed in Mexico for 6 months to work. Turns out that he flew by me at some point as he did all of Central America in about 2 weeks time and out of all the places, I met him again in Paraguay.

His way of saying hi to everyone… it’s a Japanese thing… 😉

STE_5886

Comments
  1. E- says:

    Good to see that there are still nice and laid back people in the world… Lucky you having met them!

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

