Crazy French guy, Yannick

Posted: March 7, 2012 in Argentina

I made it to a city showing on the map as Salta. I didn’t know much about but it was a good place to relax as it was getting late and rainy. After looking at prices for hostels, I found out that there was a municipal campground available. Set-up camp, saw one of the largest swimming pools of my life (no water at that time) and checked out the city.

Some pics of the city:

Teleferic to go see the jesus. Paid for the ride when I could have made it up with the bike for free but oh well.

STE_6208

STE_6213

Views of the city

STE_6215

STE_6221

STE_6227

STE_6236

STE_6246

STE_6248

STE_6250

STE_6255

STE_6260

While relaxing in the campground, a crazy French guy showed up on a BMW 1200GS, Yannick. We ended up exploring the rest of the the northern side of Argentina together.

STE_6306

I wont go into too many details as I’m feeling a bit lazy but I’ll let the pictures do the talking…

I believe these were the roads and destinations


.

STE_6275

STE_6279

STE_6290

STE_6292

STE_6299

STE_6301

STE_6308

STE_6309

STE_6321

We followed the railroad at one point that’s supposed to be some kind of engineering marvel. This bridge for it is supposed to be something unique as well, but it didn’t seem all that special to me. Back in the day when it was made out of wood, well, that was I’m sure quite an achievement.

STE_6339

STE_6343

STE_6350

STE_6370

STE_6376

STE_6393

STE_6404

STE_6412

STE_6418

STE_6424

STE_6429

STE_6432

Zoom zoom zoom….

STE_6435

STE_6438

STE_6441

If only I had one of my old gixxers on these roads….

STE_6446

Comments
  1. Hi Stephan,
    Love your photos. We are just back adter 2 months chasing the Dakar, then touring Peru & Bolivia. Everytime we get to a city and the GPS maps are working I say “Thankyou Stephan!!!”
    Lynda in GR2

    • pimptrix says:

      Glad to hear from you guys! I wish I would have gotten to see the Dakar but I messed up a bit on the maps and didn’t make it on time. I was looking at the 2009 Dakar map which would finish in Buenos Aires so I was planning to see the finish. I realized my map mistake when I was down close to Ushuaia and farrrrrr from the Dakar. Enjoy and have a safe trip!

  2. yankibike says:

    Hi friend, this period with you was one of the best of my south american trip !! and what i talk about you , I also introduce you as ” the crazy canadian biker but so funny” see u.
    Yannick
    yankibike.com

Leave a Reply and someone might one day read it...

